A Gift from a Stranger

Flower-Gift

On a visit to the chiropractor earlier in the week, I was paying my account at the reception desk when a little girl, no more than four years old gave me this flower.

A total stranger she said it was for me and that I can keep it.

This gesture moved me and didn’t go unnoticed by everyone else in the waiting room.

So sweet, so innocent.

At home, I placed the flower by the Christmas tree along with the other presents.

Ever since, whenever I glance at it I see this little girl and immediately my mind is drawn to the Newtown tragedy.

Although the flower has wilted, I know this will be the best gift in my Christmas stocking.

9 Responses to “A Gift from a Stranger”

  1. bluebrightly

    There’s great beauty and restraint here. Not least is the contrast between the delicate little flower and the texture of your hand – that and your words tell a moving story – thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

