I am honoured to have been nominated for two awards recently.  It’s always nice when someone says they like your blog and I truly appreciate it.

The first for the Reader Appreciation Award came from Padraig O’Connor whose music blog is packed with insightful information on the artists and songs he features each week.

The second for the Illuminating Blogger Award was from Tom, the voice behind The Palladian Traveller, a site devoted to “the pursuit of happiness from within the borders of Italy, and occasionally, beyond”.  And a big motivation for me to visit Italy once again in the near future.

A big thank you goes to both these guys and I can truly say these awesome sites are worth your time, so please check them out.

http://songoftheweekblog.wordpress.com/
http://thepalladiantraveler.com/

Now for the hard bit.

Having only recently started blogging, the possibility of the receipt of an award hadn’t crossed my mind.

So I apologize for being a little tardy and not responding to the nominations in a timely fashion, however, over the last week or so I have been considering my response and have concluded that displaying awards is not for me.  So reluctantly have decided to decline these awards.

Having said that I feel bound to offer some explanation.

On the one hand it’s a matter of the time involved in fulfilling all the stipulations that awards come with, particularly as I would want to do them diligently in order do them justice.

And on the other hand I am still developing my site and finding my way in the world of blogging and still have a long way to go before I would feel comfortable with the process of passing on these awards.

So at this stage I have decided to follow the lead of a number of other bloggers and present Ambling Around Brisbane an Award free site for the time being.

I hope this does not make me sound ungrateful as that would be so far from the truth. Besides I recognise that encouragement and feedback are what drive us all to press on with our endeavours.   So to this end  it’s my intention to continue commenting and engaging with the community whenever I can and I hope that you will continue to drop by from time to time and leave the odd remark if you so feel inclined.

Paul.