If I do say so myself I have a pretty good driving record.

I prefer not to have the radio on when I’m in the car and certainly don’t have an iPhone plugged into my ears when I’m at the wheel.
Having spent many an hour on the road as part of my job I’m comfortable with my driving skills.

Traveling at or about the speed limit (you might describe me as pedestrian) the only sound is the sound inside my head. On the road and in my own world.

Traffic lights.  Slowing down.

B o o m … B o o m … B o o m …

My blood pressure starts to rise, up up and up with every beat of that base.
If there is one thing capable of knocking me out of my rhythm it’s a boom box riding alongside me.
My thoughts turn and aggression starts to build.

B o o m … B o o m … B o o m …

Homicidal thoughts start to develop.

B o o m … B o o m … B o o m …

A quick turn of the steering wheel, ‘Bang’, that should stop it…….

B o o m … B o o m … B o o m …

I’ll drift onto his lane and slide him off the road, that should put an end to the pulsating sound.

B o o m … B o o m … B o o m …

What if I jam on my brakes, he’ll swerve off the road, thats the way ….. Skip that, he’ll probably run into me.

B o o m … B o o m … B o o m …

Then another sound, the one inside my head, you know, the voice that’s always there, starts to assert itself.

“Settle down … Settle down … Settle down”.

Boom … Boom … Boom …

“Take it easy, it will go away.  Take your time”.

Boom Boom Boom …

I start to back off, let them get ahead of me and watch as they ride off into the distance.  Off to annoy someone else.

Slowly, my grip on the steering wheel loosens and I start to return to my thoughts and my own world.